2.2.4 Creating & Configuring Photosmith’s Publish Service in Lightroom

After Photosmith's Lightroom plugin is downloaded and installed per the instructions in Section 2.2.1, you will need to create one Publish Service instance in Lightroom for each iPad running Photosmith. Lightroom’s Publish Services is the mechanism that allows photos and metadata to sync between Lightroom and Photosmith.

 To create a Publish Service in Lightroom for Photosmith:
  • Ensure that that the Photosmith’s Lightroom plugin is installed and running, by selecting File -> Plug-in Manager... in Lightroom’s menu bar, then looking for the Photosmith plugin in the left-hand column.  If it’s listed, shows a green circle, and says “Installed and running” you’re in good shape!

  • Make sure Photosmith is running on your iPad, and that your iPad is connected to the same internal network as your Mac or PC running Lightroom.
  • In Lightroom’s Library module, locate the Photosmith plugin within Publish Services, and click Set Up….

  • Now, the Lightroom Publishing Manager window will be shown:

Photosmith’s Lightroom Publishing Manager configuration presents quite a few options - Let’s tackle them one-by-one:

Publish Service

  • Description - Type what you want to name your Publish Service.  We suggest using the name of your iPad.

Network

  • Device - This should automatically populate with information collected from Photosmith on your iPad. If your iPad wasn’t found, make sure it’s turned on, connected to the same local area network (LAN) via Wi-Fi as your Mac or PC running Lightroom, and that Photosmith is running in the foreground. Click the search button in the Publish Service configuration if you had to reset your iPad.


Note:  If Lightroom’s Publish Service cannot find your iPad on your local network (LAN), please see Section 2.2.5, Manually Configuring Photosmith’s Publish Service in Lightroom.
  • Status - If your iPad is switched on and connected to your Wi-Fi network and Photosmith is running, you should see iPad found.
  • Network Status - This will either say Attempting to contact... or Ready to Sync.  The Refresh button is available if you want to force a scan of your local network again for your iPad running Photosmith.
  • Photos, Collections, Keywords - Once the Photosmith Publish Service is able to see your iPad running Photosmith, these fields will automatically populate.  This information can be useful as it will show not just a total number of photos, collections and keywords, but also the number of unsynced photos as well.

 Lightroom -> Photosmith Image Options 



Here you may choose to apply a specific Lightroom develop preset for all photos transferred from Photosmith on your iPad to Lightroom on your Mac or PC during sync.


Note: Photosmith -> Lightroom Image Options only apply to photos that are new to your Lightroom catalog.  In other words, photos which exist in Photosmith on your iPad, but are not yet in Lightroom.  These settings are only applicable when Download via Wi-Fi is selected in Lightroom’s Plugin Manager > Photosmith plugin > Photo Duplication.


You may also apply a specific Lightroom metadata template, and choose how you want to handle potential metadata conflicts should they occur between Photosmith and Lightroom.


 Apply During Import:
  • Develop Settings - Click this checkbox to choose between existing Lightroom Develop Presets and your own Custom Develop Presets, grouped by folder.  Uncheck the box if you don't want to apply any Develop Presets during import from Photosmith to Lightroom.
  • Metadata Preset - Click this checkbox to choose between your own metadata templates, as created in Lightroom.  If the metadata fields assigned in Photosmith conflict with your Lightroom metadata presets, you may choose an Action to decide the order that metadata is applied, and which side (Photosmith or Lightroom) should receive priority:
 Action:
  • Photosmith metadata is applied, then Lightroom - Lightroom metadata is applied, then Photosmith’s metadata.
  • Use only Photosmith metadata - Use only Lightroom metadata, and ignore any metadata in Lightroom.

Local Destination




This is the location where photos will be saved on your Mac or PC when synced from Photosmith on your iPad. You may choose a specific template of several popular date-based folder hierarchies:
  • Destination Directory - The root directory where photos imported from Photosmith will be saved on your Mac or PC running Lightroom.
  •  Into Subdirectory - You may choose a subdirectory into which photos will be saved. The subdirectory can be changed on a per-sync basis if you prefer to add custom naming to your import folder on a per-shoot basis. Click the checkbox and type the folder name to use.
  •  Organize - Many users prefer to save their photos into folders based on date - and we agree!  It makes for easy and predictable organization of your digital assets. However, if you want to just put everything into one folder, we're cool with that, too. You may choose to do either via this option.
  •  Date Format - If you choose to organize your photos imported into Lightroom from Photosmith By Date in the above Organize section, you will have the option to choose a specific date syntax here.  YYYY stands for four digit year (for example, 2014), MM stands for two digit month with leading zero (for example, 08), DD stands for two digit day of the month with leading zero (for example, 06).

Sync Options



 You may choose how you want to handle existing keywords in Lightroom: 
  •  Sync only keywords assigned to photos in the selected collection (faster)
  •  Sync all catalog keywords with Photosmith on each sync (slower, but more complete)

Beware of the "(not saved)" Misnomer



Don't be confused by the status of the Photosmith’s Lightroom Publish Service, even after you click the Save button, then go back to edit the Publish Service Settings.  It will always indicate its status as “(not saved)”.  This is as designed by Adobe, and it's a bit confusing.  Your settings are, in fact, saved when you click the Save button, despite what the Publish Service status indicates.


Once you have correctly configured Photosmith’s Lightroom Publish Service, click the Save button.


Again, please only create a single Photosmith Publish Service in Lightroom - Yes, it is possible to multiple Publish Service instances, however it may cause unpredictable results during sync.