In Photosmith, you may mark one or more photos with either a pick or reject flag. Flags can be very useful when making an initial culling pass on newly imported photos, and is the preferred method of marking which photos will be deleted in both Photosmith and Lightroom.
Note: Photos unique to either the Photosmith or Lightroom catalog marked with the Reject Flag will still sync to the other side - the reject flag will not block or prevent a photo from being synced.
Managing Pending Deletes using the Reject Flag
By design, deletes don’t propagate during sync. For example, deleting one or more photos in Photosmith will never cause the corresponding photo in Lightroom to be deleted. If a deleted photo is associated with a synced User Collection however, the deleted photo will be removed from the User Collection in Lightroom during the next sync.
Although we don’t sync deletes, managing photos you wish to delete is made easy by using the Reject Flag.
To help manage deleted photos in Lightroom and Photosmith, prior to deleting, first flag the photo or photos as Reject, then perform a sync with Lightroom. Then, to "clean up" orphaned photos in both Lightroom and Photosmith, filter by the reject flag, and delete.
Allowing deletes to sync opens the door to very potentially destructive behavior - we prefer to play it safe. By leveraging the Reject Flag, syncing, then periodically deleting all photos which are marked as Reject, everything is much more deliberate and safe.
For more information about deleting photos in Photosmith, please see Section 3.2.5.
Pick/Reject Flags and XMP Sidecar Files
It’s important to be aware that flags (pick and reject) are not part of the official XMP specification, and are not included when exporting XMP metadata files. This is also the case when saving XMP metadata out of Lightroom, as well.
While this isn’t usually a deal-breaker for most workflows, it is an important consideration if you plan to use XMP metadata export to Dropbox (Section 3.5.1) or export XMP to iPad (Section 3.5.7) as part of your photography workflow.